Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards logo

Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards 2023

Submissions are being sought for the 13th biennial Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards (AALDA) 2023. Submissions will be taken from 1st August to 23rd December 2022. 

Please read carefully the descriptions of the categories below, as some of these have been updated for 2023, with Innovative Solutions to Housing Need being removed from the categories. All entries for buildings need to have been completed in the last 4 years and landscape and biodiversity projects completed in the last 15 years due to delays in construction due to COVID-19.

Before making a submission for your building or landscaping project, please read the AALDA submissions privacy notice (PDF 191KB)

Make a submission

We are continuing to take nominations from members of the public who would like to suggest a building or landscaping project for AALDA 2023. After you nominate we will get in touch with the architect and property owner to ask them to make a formal submission. You can find out more about how to nominate a project on our website.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Aberdeenshire on 5th October 2023.

Completed developments can be submitted under the following categories.

Business and Community enterprise award logo - showing square with half circle insideBusiness and community enterprise

This category focuses on commercial or community development. The submission can either be a new build or redevelopment project which demonstrates outstanding merit in its design and functionality, but also demonstrates clear merit in its conception, ethos and development. Find out how to submit an entry in the business and community enterprise category.

Conservation and building adaption award logo - showing triangle inside sqaureConservation and building adaptation

This category focuses on the reuse of existing building stock. The scheme must either demonstrate exceptional standards in the field of conservation or deliver an appropriate new use for a previously underutilised structure through renovation, restoration or re-development. It should bring new life into the property through thoughtful use of its plan form whilst retaining its character and interest. Find out how to submit an entry in the conservation and building adaptation category.

Innovative single house design (including extensions) award logo - showing two circles overlapping inside squareInnovative single house design (including extensions)

This category focuses on individual properties and extensions. The scheme must demonstrate the very best in construction, layout, siting and design. It should also demonstrate exceptional consideration in terms of environmental, functional and physical attributes. Find out how to submit an entry in the innovative single house design (including extensions) category.

Landscape and biodiversity design award logo - showing diagonal line in squareLandscape and biodiversity enhancement

Entries must demonstrate excellence in the formation of community open space, parks, gardens or other natural environment or green infrastructure projects. The submission must also outline how the scheme has contributed to the enhancement of biodiversity and blue-green networks. This can be either in isolation or as part of a wider development. Find out how to submit an entry in the landscape and biodiversity enhancement category.

Building communities for the future award logo - showing pentagon inside square

Building communities for the future (residential development)

This category focuses on residential developments of five or more houses. The scheme will not only deliver well designed and attractive housing, but also demonstrate how a considered layout, incorporating landscaping and green open spaces, can create communities as well as deliver on housing need, working towards 20 minute neighbourhoods. Find out how to submit an entry in the building communities for the future (residential development) category.

Student award logo - showing small square insdie large squareStudent only category

Further information to follow.

Ian Shepherd Award

Ian ShepherdThe council introduced this award to the overall winner in memorial to the former principal archaeologist for the local authority who sadly passed away in May 2009.

Ian Shepherd was an acknowledged expert in both the archaeology and architecture of the North East of Scotland who was highly respected by his peers and heavily involved in the Aberdeenshire Design Awards ever since their inception in 1998. 

Judging panel

We are excited to announce some new members of the judging panel for the upcoming scheme, which will join the panel to provide a broad range of knowledge within their areas of expertise.


Would your company like to sponsor the Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards 2023? A variety of sponsorship packages are available, which you can find out about in our sponsorship pack (PDF 653KB).

Previous award winners

View winners and highlighted projects from previous years: