Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards

The 12th biennial Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards (AALDA) is now live, in advance of the award ceremony in October 2020. For the 2020 scheme, we are seeking formal nominations from architects, agents and building owners on built and landscape projects in Aberdeenshire, under 7 categories.

This year, we are also looking for nominations from the public. If you wish to get involved, you can nominate buildings or landscapes in your area, which you would like to see considered as part of the 2020 scheme. Please send us an email detailing the property you would like to nominate and its location. We will then make all best efforts to contact the owners to see if they would like to submit a formal nomination for their concept, building or landscape. The only criteria is that building projects must have been completed within the last 2 years and landscape projects in the last 10 years.

You can view all award winners from the 2018 scheme.

2020 submission categories

The closing date for submissions is Friday 20th December 2019, except for the student only category which will close on Monday 4th May 2020.

Design awards Category Icons-01-resized.pngInnovative solutions to housing need

Conceptual or completed projects that demonstrate innovation in social, sheltered and affordable housing (including smaller properties). View the innovative solutions to housing need category.

Design awards Category Icons-03_resized.pngConservation and building adaptation

The scheme must either demonstrate exceptional standards in the field of conservation or deliver an appropriate new use for a previously underutilised structureView the conservation and building adaptation category.

Design awards Category Icons-05_resized.pngInnovative single house design (including extensions)

This category focuses on individual properties and extensions. The scheme must demonstrate the very best in construction, layout, siting and design. View the innovative single house design category.

Design awards Category Icons-07_resized.pngLandscape design

Entries must demonstrate excellence in the design and formation of community open space, parks, gardens or other green infrastructure projects. View the landscape design category.

Design awards Category Icons-02-resized.png

Future proof living (student only category)

This conceptual design award category focuses on innovative solutions to address the specific needs of an ageing population. View the future proof living category.

Design awards Category Icons-04_resized.pngBuilding communities for the future

This category focuses on residential developments. The scheme will not only deliver well designed and attractive housing, but also demonstrate how a considered layout can create communities. View the building communities for the future category.

Design awards Category Icons-06_resized.pngBusiness enterprise

This category focuses on commercial or community development. The submission can either be a new build or redevelopment project which demonstrates outstanding merit in its design, functionality, ethos and development. View the business enterprise category.

Should you require any further information please email us at designawards2020@aberdeenshire.gov.uk